Fresno County Fire Protection District
Honor, Integrity, Cooperation & Professionalism

About Us

Our Department

The Fresno County Fire Protection District is located in the heart of the San Joaquin Valley in Central California. The Fire District encompasses approximately 2,655 square miles and serves a population of more than 220,000 citizens. It is bounded on the east by the Sierra Nevada Mountains and on the west by the Coastal Mountain Range. Within our borders firefighters serve the Communities of Tarpey Village, Calwa, Easton, Malaga, Del Rey, Caruthers, San Joaquin, Tranquillity, Prather, Friant, Tollhouse, Wonder Valley, Cantua Creek, Three Rocks, Five Points, Centerville, Tivy Valley, Sand Creek and the Cities of San Joaquin, Parlier, Mendota and Huron.

Our History

Our History

The Fresno County Fire Protection District was established in 1949 after a series of large devastating fires. Residents formed what was then called the Mid Valley Fire Protection District. The first fire station was constructed at the current Fresno County Fairgrounds at Cedar and Butler Avenues. The Fire District staffed and responded from this single station serving the entire District. In 1950, under the leadership of William Pennington, State Forest Ranger IV, the Mid-Valley Fire Protection District joined what was then the California Division of Forestry and the Unit Headquarters was moved from the Fresno County Fair Grounds to the newly completed facility at Highway 180 and Academy Avenue in Sanger. In 1978, the Fig Garden Fire Protection District contracted with the Department of Forestry for fire protection services, and in the early 1980’s the Friant and Table Mountain Volunteers were added. The cooperative agreements between these entities were consolidated in the early 1990’s under the name Fresno County Fire Protection District.

Today, five (5) Special Districts provide fire protection to the unincorporated areas of Fresno County. The Fresno County Fire Protection District (FCFPD) is the largest of these five (5) Districts covering 2,655 square miles, or over 50% of the County which includes the Cities of Parlier, Mendota, Huron, San Joaquin and the rural communities of Tranquillity, Del Rey, Caruthers, Easton, Malaga, Friant, Cantua Creek, Calwa, Prather, Sand Creek and Wonder Valley.

The Fresno County Fire Protection District, in cooperation with the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CAL FIRE), provides all risk emergency services from 14 District Staffed Fire Stations and 4 District Paid Call Firefighter Stations. The District operates its fire engine companies with a minimum of 2 – 3 career Firefighters on duty every day, totaling 48 Firefighters on duty daily providing fire suppression, emergency medical service, rescue, and fire prevention and education to approximately 220,000 people and covering approximately 2,655 square miles.

Mission Statement & Vision

Mission Statement

The mission of the Fresno County Fire Protection District is to provide all persons who reside, work, or travel within the Fire District, the protection of life, property and environment within those areas where the Fire District has direct protection responsibility by virtue of law, contract or mutual understanding.


The Fresno County Fire Protection District is a public safety agency that provides the highest level of emergency services to the citizens and visitors of Fresno County including; fire protection, medical assistance, hazard mitigation, technical rescue, and all other services that preserve life and property. In an effort to minimize emergency and life safety responses, the District strives to maintain a comprehensive fire prevention program (public education, fire protection planning, fire prevention education, fire law and code enforcement, and fire suppression cost recovery). The District’s desire to best serve the citizens is further exemplified by our cooperative efforts through participation in mutual, instant, and automatic aid agreements that allow the Fire District to receive and deliver emergency services from other emergency response agencies within the City and County areas.

Strategic Plan

To view/download the Fresno County Fire Protection District Strategic Plan, please click on the file below:

Additional Resources

Organization Chart